When Holding A Door Makes You Look Dumb

I discovered something today that I had not really put any thought into before:  What’s the proper distance to not hold a door open for someone?

Ten feet?  Fifteen?

I don’t want to look like a jerk if I open the door and just waltz right through; leaving the person behind me to open that oh-so-heavy door.  But, I also don’t want to be standing there (waiting for what seems like forever) for that person to get to the door.

I experienced a situation like this today.  Walking back to my car, I opened a door and turned around to see if someone was behind me.  There was and she was a little over ten feet away.  I decided to hold it open.  Now, one would think that she would at least hurry up as a nice gensture to me as I have so given to her by holding the door open.  Just one or two skips is all I ask.

But no, she was as slow as a turtle in molasses.

It was a smorgasboard of annoyance.

So, where is the cut off line?  I’ve decided that it should be at least four or five paces away from the door.  You’re on your own after that and it won’t bother me to open that door and keep on walking.

And maybe, if I’m in a good mood, I’ll hit that big, giant handicap button.

-Chris

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

